The ABC of RET with emotions and depression.

The basis: A-B-C
  RET
Contents:

What is RET?
The basis: A-B-C
Ineffective thoughts
Roadmap
1: Describe the situation
2: Describe your feelings and behavior
3: Describe your thoughts
4: Describe desired behavior
5: Challenge ineffective thoughts
6: Replace ineffective thoughts
7: Check if it works
8: Practice

Read
The RET was developed by American Dr. Albert Ellis. The base is the ABC, abbreviations for the words:

The A-B-C is the basis of RET
A Activating Event Situation
B Beliefs Thoughts
C Consequences Behavior and / or Emotions

The A-B-C works as follows.
You have a situation, A.
And in that situation you have behavioral or emotional what is bothering you, C.

For example:

A: You have a presentation next week (on your education or your work)
C: Emotion: nerves, excitement.
Behavior: procrastination. You’re not prepared, but  now there are always hiccups.

For you are your emotions and conduct a logical consequence of the situation. Indeed, since that presentation you must keep you so nervous.
Your reasoning is correct in that, as you should not keep the presentation, you would not be nervous. But it is not automatically so that the holding of a presentation nerves and leads to massive procrastination. Indeed, there are other people – perhaps colleagues or classmates you know – not so nervous for a presentation. And that is just good to prepare.
So in the same situation – A – is yet another possible behavior. That they show.

 
This means that your comment does not arise directly from the situation. There is still a step between, namely your thoughts (B) and on the situation. These thoughts cause behavior and emotions.

This intermediate step of thinking is very fast and for a large part unconsciously. Hence, you often fail in that situation you have many thoughts. Let alone the thoughts that cause undesirable behavior. You will be aware of these thoughts, you want the cause of your unwanted behavior or feeling in the trace.

Back to the example of the presentation
What thoughts can haunt in your head that make you so nervous and you are not going to prepare? For example:

Oh my, soon I can not remember what to say and then I’m off like a watering can!
If I’m going to prepare and then I’m nervous I can not stand it.
I pretend I do not have to keep that presentation, then I need also not worry about it.
Suppose I do not, then everyone laughs at me.
It’s hard with these thoughts in your head is nervous!

What would that others, not so in panic, thinking now? For example:

Exciting, a presentation. But with proper preparation I make something of it!
Fun just to tell you what my findings.
I am also a little scary, but that should not you?
If I just do not remember, that’s annoying but I will get it out.
These thoughts do not give rise to very large nerves. Well for one kind of tense expectation, but that’s also normal for a presentation?!

Worked in the ABC schedule looks like this:

Yourself:
A: You have a presentation next week (on your education or your work)
B: Oh dear, I can not remember later what to say and then I’m off like a watering can!
If I’m going to prepare and then I’m nervous I can not stand it.
I pretend I do not have to keep that presentation, then I need also not worry about it.
Suppose I do not, then everyone laughs at me.
C: Emotion: nerves, excitement
Behavior: procrastination. You’re not prepared, but by now there are always against it to the hiccups.

Your Friend:
A: You have a presentation next week (on your education or your work)
B: Exciting, a presentation. But with proper preparation I make something of it!
Fun just to tell you what my findings.
I am also a little scary, but that should not you?
If I just do not remember, that’s annoying but I will get it out.
C: Emotion: excited anticipation
   Behavior: save yourself

You see this schedule in the same situation in different types of behavior A, C, and emotions, C, are possible. And that caused by the thoughts, B.

One big advantage: you have your own thoughts in the hand, the situation is not always. Some presentations, you simply hold. But your thoughts are yours and you can thus affect yourself. That you can reach by RET: replace old, non-constructive thoughts new ideas effectively. And so you get yourself in control.

(dutch)

http://www.leren.nl/cursus/persoonlijkeeffectiviteit/ret/abc.html

Leave a Reply

